Giving and receiving feedback Blog Stage 2

Much like in blog stage 1, I have found that both giving and receiving feedback has been of great benefit to me.

 

In terms of my feedback to my group members Samantha and Kyra, I have tried as best I can to give them feedback that will help them improve not only their ILA units for their students but also ways in which they can improve their blog posts to better reflect the excellent work they have done throughout the semester.

 

In Samantha’s case I gave feedback in relation to her bibliography suggesting that an extra column be incorporated to include which blog post the item was used in. This I feel will help her readers link different readings to different subjects and make it easier to find what exactly they may be looking for.

 

The advice I gave Kyra was to perhaps think of a different or newer way of doing a “:research journal”. My suggestion was use a blog and make the contents of the journal be more student driven. Instead of giving her students the topics to write in their journal, instead let them write what they want. Another suggestion was to have the students work through theirs and other peoples blogs and leave comments, creating a form of online class discussion about the topic at hand.

 

 

I have not received any feedback at the moment of this post except for Kyra’s suggestion of using the post it note exit card strategy to have my students critically reflect on what they have learned. This is something that I have looked into and might adjust for the future but for the moment I feel that by having them keep it short and simple with these post it note questions/statements I am really seeing what my students are thinking at that moment. Having them use a different exit card to write something critical though would be a good change of pace.

 

I was also very pleased with the feedback I received from Mandy Lupton for my presentation. I have really felt proud of the way in which my students and I have worked through this ILA so far and to have Mandy realise that from only a short presentation meant that I have obviously done a good job.

 

As my ILA is not finished, there is still a number of reflective activities I will need to partake in once it is all done and finished. The first will be a feedback activity that I will have my students fill out. This will include questions about what they learned, what they enjoyed and most importantly for me, what they enjoyed about the way I taught the unit. After this I will have a peer teacher from the school take a look over the work of my students and myself and give me feedback on how they thought the whole process went. That will include looking over this blog and my lesson plans.

 

This type of reflection will only help to strengthen my future practice as teacher.

 

About jonathonwarrenwhite

Primary school teacher. Ultimate Frisbee player. Music lover.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a comment